A short history of Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter 296.

The Contents of this Little Book are the impressions gained of the affairs of Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, Number 296 on the Roll of The Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Scotland, since its conception in 1901, and its birth in 1902 until the present date.

These details have been gleaned from a study, although brief, of such Minute Books as are available and some discussion with those Companions still alive and active in the Spring of 2002.

May the Chapter continue to exist and thrive till such time as some other Companion has the thrill of compiling The Little Book of the Second Hundred Years.

A History of Chapter Maryhill, No. 296. by D. Alan Seath.

Who knows just where it all started ?

The lounge at The Lock or The Kelvin Dock ? The ‘snug’ at The First and Last ?

All we know is that the first recorded meeting with respect to Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter took place in the Masonic Hall, 172 Wyndford Street, Maryhill on Wednesday, 19th. February 1902, starting at 8.00 p.m. with thirteen present. These thirteen are named as John Wilson Bain, Robert Crawford, John L. Sommerville, William Henderson, Frederick Morris, John Clark, John Banks, William M, Aitken, Alexander Blewes, Angus McDonald, Thomas Goudie, John McDonald and Daniel McDonald. They discussed the worth and decided to “take such steps as are necessary to obtain a Charter for the Constitution of a R. A. Chapter”, and that the Chapter should be named ‘Maryhill’. A big step to take and one which has affected a huge number of Masons, even to this very day.

The following nominations were made to comply with Rules :-

J. Wilson Bain M.E.P.Z.

Robert Crawford M.E.P.H.

Andrew Fergus (not present) M.E.P.J.

William Henderson Scribe ‘E’

Thomas Goudie Scribe ‘N’

William Dunbar (not present) Treasurer

Frederick Morris 1st. Soj.

John L. Sommerville 2nd. Soj.

Thomas Aitken (not present) 3rd. Soj.

J. Wilson Bain agreed to forward the £5„11„0d . (£5.55p) required to obtain a Charter. Those present resolved to approach Lodge Maryhill, No. 510 for their agreement to the use of their Hall on the 3rd. Wednesday of each month and to ask 510 to grant them use of “whatever furniture may be required for the work of the Chapter” at a cost of £6 per annum, and to request a loan of £50 for regalia, etc. from them.

Fees were provisionally set at “the level of the other Chapters in Glasgow”, this being £2 „ 2 „ 0 (that is £2.10p in new money).

The next meeting was called on Wednesday, 25th. June, 1902, following the receipt of a Communication from Supreme Grand Chapter which granted a Charter to Royal Arch Chapter Maryhill, No. 296. The following Fees were fixed :-

Test Fees 2/6d(12 1/2p)

Founder’s Subscription £ 1„1 „0d(£1.05p).

Affiliate’s Fee £ 1„ 1 „ Od (£1.05p).

Affiliate from a Foreign Constitution £ 1„11„6d(£1.57′/2p)

At this meeting the formal “Opening” Meeting was set for Wednesday, 6th. August 1902 at 7.30 p.m. in the Masonic Hall of Lodge Maryhill, in Wyndford Street, Maryhill.

A dream had become a virtual reality, all that was needed was THE meeting.

The Working Letter granted by Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter.

“To all whom it may concern,

WE, the undersigned Office Bearers Of the



the Royal Arch Degree



Do hereby, in Name and by Authority of the said Supreme Grand Chapter, grant full Power, Warrant, and Commission to the Worthy Companions of the said Ancient and Exalted Degree, viz.

John Wilson Bain, Robert Crawford, Andrew Fergus, William Henderson, Thomas Goudie, William Dunbar, Frederick Morris, John L. Sommerville, & Thomas Aitken

All Resident in the Town and the Vicinity of Glasgow in the County of Lanark to Open and Hold a regular Chapter of Royal Arch Degree in Maryhill under the sanction of the said Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter for initiating such BRETHREN as are regular MASTER MASONS, into the Mysteries of the Excellent and holy Royal Arch Degree of Masonry; to transact such other Business as may be deemed necessary, connected with the Royal Arch Order; and for that purpose to open and hold regular Chapters of the said Royal Arch, and other Steps and Degrees of Masonry which are preparatory thereto, in so far as the same do not interfere with the Degrees of MASTER MASONRY; and to exercise every other Privilege and Immunity whatsoever, which to a regular Royal Arch Chapter is known to belong, aye and until a regular Charter of Constitution and Erection is transmitted to the said Companions.”

Given under our Hands and the Seal of the Order at Edinburgh this fifth day of July A .D. 1902. A.O. 2432,

C. M. Ramsey Grand Z.

R. S. Brown, Grand Scribe E

Inaugural (Alpha) Meeting of Maryhill R. A. Chapter, No. 296.

As stated, this significant event took place on August 6th. 1902, and it is interesting to note that five of those at the Committee Meeting in February are not mentioned again in such records as I have seen. The Founding Office-bearers were :-

M.E.Z. (elect) J. Wilson Bain

M.E.H, (elect) Robert Crawford

M.E.J, (elect) Andrew Fergus

Scribe ‘E’ (elect) William Henderson

Scribe ‘N’ (elect) Thomas Goudie

1st. Soj. (elect) Fred Morris

2nd. Soj (elect) John L. Sommerville

3rd. Soj. (elect) Thomas Aitken

Janitor (elect) John Norton

There were, in all, 33 Companions present on that evening. There were 18 Petitions for membership and one applicant for Affiliation read out, balloted, and approved. Two Brethren were ‘advanced’ to the Mark Degree; 15 Affiliated to the Mark Degree in Chapter; 17 ‘accepted’ and ‘acknowledged’ as Excellent Master Masons; and all 17 ‘admitted’ and ‘exalted’ to, and instructed in the Holy Royal Arch Degree. To complete a busy evening, 6 Provincial members there were conferred with Honorary Membership of 296. The membership now stood at 34 Companions of various rank. Not a bad night’s work by any standard.

Consecration and Dedication Meeting.

The Ceremony of Consecration and Dedication took place in the Wyndford Street Hall on Wednesday, 20th. August, 1902, starting at 7.15 p.m. with 19 Provincial Grand Office-bearers from the Provincial Grand Royal Arch Chapter of the Lower Ward of Lanarkshire in attendance, lead by Ex. Provost James Kirkwood, Prov. Gr. Superintendent. There were a total of 60 Companions who signed the Sederunt Book.

The Charter from Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter, dated 18th. June 1902 (AD), 2432 (AO) was presented to the new Chapter.

Honorary Membership was conferred on 21 Provincial Grand Office-bearers and 2 visiting M.E.Z’s, bringing the total membership of Chapter Maryhill, No. 296, up to 56 on its inaugural day.

Chapter 296 had made a strong impact on its beginning. A firm foundation which has seen the Chapter continue to exist for 100 years and into the twenty-first Century.

From the Minute Book of the time it is surmised that the Chapter ‘Year’ (from Installation to Installation) was, at that time, from November to October. By the Regular Meeting on October 15th. the Chapter had enrolled 64 Companions and Honorary members, not a bad record. The average attendance for the first (part) year works out at 36 Companions per Meeting. Collections were minuted for only the September and October Meetings and amounted to 7/6d (371/2p) and 6/6d (321/2p) respectively.

During the second ‘year’, from November 1902 to October 1903, with J. Wilson Bain still as M.E.Z. there was a full compliment of Office-bearers. The Membership increased to 83, the average attendance was 262 Companions per Meeting, and the average collection 6/02d (30p) per Meeting. This is incredible by present day standards, but they seemed happy then. They regretted not being able to find a representative for the Kirkwood Shooting Competition that April, agreed to support a Swimming Gala in conjunction with Lodge Maryhill, No. 510, entered one ‘rink’ in the ‘Brown’ Bowling Tournament, and, towards the end of that year, had even resolved to open a separate Benevolent Account. On September 16th. it was passed by vote that the Chapter Fees would be 10/6d. (52 1/2p) which included Life Membership and Diploma. The Treasurer was instructed to pay Lodge Maryhill, No. 510, the £6 „ 0 „ Od. agreed upon for the use of the Hall and Furniture.

In their third ‘year”, from November 1903 to October 1904, with Robert Crawford presiding as M.E.Z., the Chapter drafted its first set of Bye-laws, the first death of a Companion was recorded; the Membership topped the 100 mark, and the funds stood at:- General Fund £47 „ 11 „ 4d (£47.57p), and Benevolent Fund £15 „ 12 „ 10d (£15.64p). The average attendance was 31, and the average collection during the year was 9/22d (46p). The estimated value of regalia and furniture at the end of the year was set at £83 „ 5 „ 3d, or (in new money) (£83.26p).

The following ‘year’ (1904 – 1905), under the able guidance of M.E.Z. Andrew Fergus, the average attendance rose to 442, per meeting, the Chapter won the ‘Kirkwood Shooting Trophy’ for the first time, and the moneys in the General Fund and the Benevolent Fund, at the end of the year were recorded as £38 „ 4 „ 9d (£38,24p) and £27 „ 7 „ 7d (£27.38p), respectively. All Offices were filled, and the Chapter exuded confidence with its Roll of Members up to a grand total of 135. Unfortunately, Most Excellent Companion Andrew Fergus, M.E.Z., died on 26th. June that year, and left a shadow over the last few months with the I.P.Z. filling the Chair.

The fledgling Royal Arch Chapter of 1902 had been weaned, learned to stand on its own, and was up and running.


John L Sommerville was Installed as M.E.Z., Alex Blewes took over as Scribe ‘E’ and the ‘founding Scribe ‘E’, William Henderson, moved up to M.E.J. It was resolved that the loan of £50 „ 0 „ Od be repaid to Lodge Maryhill, No. 510. The Chapter instituted its own Shooting Competition – the Entry Fee being 1/- (5p). The Chapter furniture was insured for £100 „ 0 „ Od. During the year Chapter Maryhill protested about ‘Unfair and unMasonic’ treatment meted out to them at the Kirkwood Shooting Competition. The average attendance was 35 1/2 and the average collection was 8/- (£0.40p). By the end of 1906, taking recognition of all resignations, deaths, exaltations affiliation and Honorary Members, the roll of the Chapter was 150 Companions. This makes the average attendance 27%. By then the Chapter had paid back the £50 borrowed from Lodge 510, and the £20 borrowed from their own Benevolent Fund to enable the refund of the original £50 borrowed.

The Funds stood at :-

General Fund, £24 „ 1 „ 0 (£24.05p); Benevolent Fund, £40 „ 1 „ 3d (£40.06p).

1906 -1912.

William Henderson 1906 -1907

William M. Mollison 1907- 1908

Alexander Blewes 1908 – 1909

John Banks 1909- 1910

William P. M. Black 1910-1911

Robert Morrison 1911-1912

During these six years the Chapter continued to consolidate itself, and its membership rose to more than 200. Unfortunately for them, not every one of these could attend regularly. This was due to many being serving military men who frequently were drafted away, had duty watches, and such distractions. There had also been several ‘Passing beyond the Veil’, including at least two serving Office-bearers. 296 was a vital and vibrant Chapter, though. It continued to visit extensively, and to take part in the various Provincial competitions, It set up its own William Brown Bowling, and Sommerville Shooting Competitions, to hold ‘At Home’ nights and to hold an Annual Supper in a City-centre Restaurant. (Compare this with today). The ‘At Home’ night on 2nd. March 1910 cost 2/6d for Ladies, 31- for Gentlemen and 1/- for Juveniles. There was dancing and there were games, etc. which went on until 2.00 a.m. when “the singing of Auld Lang Syne brought to a close a very enjoyable evening in an efficient and enjoyable manner”.

The situation of the Chapter at the end of their tenth year was such that the number entered ‘on the Roll’ since 1902 was 209, which takes cognisance of 14 lost through death or resignation. Cash in the General Fund stood at £8 „ 1 „ 10d (£8.09p), in the Benevolent Fund, £10 „ 4 „ 8 1/2d (£10.23p), and in the Social Fund,,£3 „ 16 , 4d (£3.82p). The ‘Furniture’ of the Chapter was valued at £80 ,, 1 „ Od (£80,05p), with the Principals Robes, Sceptres, Aprons and Sashes, Jewels and Collarette being valued at £8 „ 0 „ 6d (£8.05p) each set. There were two ‘magnificent’ Cups (The William Brown Cup for Bowling and The Sommerville Cup for Shooting) belonging to the Chapter. At least one of these is still in existence ?

The average attendance for the year was 34.64 or 16.57%.

Chapter Maryhill, No. 296, was ten years old, and, apparently, thriving.


John H.Carson 1912-1913

James Robertson 1913-1914

William McCrae 1914-1915

JohnCumming 1915-1916

Daniel Borland 1916-1917

In the opening year of this quincade with John H. Carson firmly installed in ‘the Chair’, the Chapter resolved that, when no appellant was present, one of the learned Past Principals would give a lecture on Royal Arch Masonry. The first of these, following this decision, was by William G. Black on the subject of ‘Royal Arch Masonry and the Bible’. Alexander Blewes (P.Z.) was honoured by being appointed Provincial Grand Superintendent of Works to the warm congratulations of the Companions. This respect for 296 was further expressed when John L. Sommerville was made Provincial Grand ‘J’ in June 1913. During this year alone more than eight Companions gave notice of ‘going abroad’ and requesting ‘letters of introduction’.

As a measure of ‘how thing were going’ I looked at the relevant Balance Sheets and found :-

(Sept. 1912) General Fund-Debit Balance- £ 4„ 8„11d £ 4.45p

Rifle Fund £ 3„12„ 2d £ 3.61 p

Social Fund £ 5„16„11d £ 5.85p

Benevolent Fund £ 63 „ 10 „ 7d £ 63.53p

Furniture Account £57,,14,,4d £57.73p

Total Assets £126,,5,,1d £126.26p

(Aug. 1917) General Fund-Debit Balance- £107,,15,,10d £107.79p

Rifle Fund £2,,9,,8d £2.48p

Social Fund £7,,2,,8d £7.13p

Benevolent Fund £136,,6,11d £136.35p

Furniture Account £64,,10,,10d £64.54p

Total Assets £318,,5,,11d £318.30p

By August 1915, due to the war, there were difficulties regarding retaining, or even finding meeting places and, for a while the Chapter met in the Lodge Dramatic Masonic Hall, 48 Sauchiehall Street, and at 100 West Regent Street, with Office Bearers’ meetings taking place wherever space was available. Not an easy time. The Chapter settled eventually in the Wilton Halls, 106 Napiershall Street, in February 1916 with Office-bearers Meetings taking place wherever possible.

On 20th. December 1916, the Chapter exalted a Brother William Law from Lodge Ellangowan, No. 716, in Milngavie.

In April 1917 the First Grand Principal ‘set the example of not wearing evening dress at Masonic functions; and, while leaving it optional for every Companion, it is wished to be known that morning dress is in order On all such occasion’.

1917 – 1922

James McNab 1917-1918

James Docherty 1918-1919

Thomas Shirlaw 1919-1920

Ferdinand (Fred) Vickerman 1920 -1921

Thomas Pearson 1921 – 1922

During this period* while the Western World was in conflict in what, at this time, was called the European War, many members were ‘lost’ and a ‘Roll of Honour1 was set up, as shown in the relevant Minute Book, the Chapter continued to make progress. The Minute Book referred to lists some of those Companions of Maryhill who were ‘Killed in Action’, ‘Missing’, ‘Wounded’, ‘Prisoners of War’, and ‘Discharged’.

In April 1917 there is notice of the forming of a Chapter at Renton – No. 411. On 5th. December 1917 the Chapter held a Whist Drive in aid of the Soldiers and Sailors Hospitality Fund at the cost of 116d (7 1/2p) a ticket. 214 tickets were sold and a total of £18 „ 0 „ O1/2d was handed over.

On 25th. May 1918 a Companion was permitted to change his name in the Roll Book from a Germanic sounding one to a Scots one.

No mention is made of the cessation of hostilities in the Chapter’s Minutes.

On 5th. March 1919 John L. Sommerville, P.Z., and one of the ‘Founders’, died suddenly, he was said (by J. Wilson Bain, P.Z.) to be the true founder of the Chapter. A ‘Building Fund’ was opened for Lodge Maryhill, No. 510.

On November 19th. 1919 there were seventeen Applicants from no fewer than nine separate Lodges.

In May and June 1920 three Brethren from Lodge Ellangowan, No. 716, in Milngavie, were exalted.

Over this five-year period the ‘collections’ for the Benevolent Fund ranged from 6 shillings and 4 pence (32p) to £ 2 „ 16 „ 9d (£2.84p), the average over the whole period being 16/ 81/2d (84p). The cost of a P.Z’s. Jewel rose to £10 from £2 in 1903, an inflation rate of 500% over almost 20 years.

In November / December 1921 it was unanimously recommended by the Office-bearers that, “no alcoholic refreshments be supplied at Chapter Harmony meetings in future”.

For personal reasons, the writer finds it significant that no mention is made of the Constitution of Chapter Ellangowan in February 1921.

Again, for comparison, I include an extract from the accounts.

(Sept. 1918) General Fund-Debit Balance- £167,,10,,1 1/2d £167.51p

Rifle Fund £ 1,,6,,5d £ 1.32p

Social Fund £ 6,,5,,5d £ 6.27p

Benevolent Fund £ 160,,2,,7d £160.06p

Furniture Account £58,,12,,2d £58.61p

Total Assets £393,,12,,2d £363.84p

(Aug. 1922) General Fund-Debit Balance- £332,,15,,1d £332.76p

Rifle Fund £3,,0,,5d £3.04p

Social Fund £15,,5,,2 1/2d £15.26p

Benevolent Fund £314,,16,,10d £314.84p

Furniture Account £58,,13,,9d £58.68p

Total Assets £724,,11,3 1/2d £724.57p

1922 -1927

John Thomson 1922 – 1923

David Gordon 1923 – 1924

Samual McCulloch 1924 – 1925

James Hunter 1925 – 1926

James Nicolson 1926 – 1927

And so we progress towards the Chapter’s Quarter Century with the Chap¬ter meeting in The Crescent Halls in Wilton Crescent, and John Thomson newly installed as M.E.Z. At the November Convocation there were five Applicants for exaltation, at the December one six, and for the rest of the year till October 1923 there was but one. The General Fund, by April, had depreciates to such an extent that it was passed that subscriptions from Companions would be required to provide the previous P.Z. with a Jewel to “mark the appreciation of the Chapter for his services”. A sudden, and unexplained trough had developed in ‘Maryhill’s’ affairs although Maryhill Royal Arch Rifle Club was formed. On 17th. October 1923 M.E.C. David Gordon took the reigns and the Chapter moved into its 22nd. year. One of the first notable happenings of this year was the collapse of The Mercantile Bank in which some 25% of the Chapter’s Benevolent Fund were invested. A big shock !

1922-1927, cont.)

The general finances of the Chapter must also have been poor at this time as a decision was taken to cease the purchase of Masonic calendars for the Companions. Hall rent was £4 „ 0 „ Od, and our advert in The Times was 6/- (30p).

A full programme of social events was still being arranged with Shooting Competitions, “At Home” and “Supper Nights”, Bowling and Golf Matches, and the like. On evenings when no candidate was present discussions would take place to try to improve the Chapter. Such was the feeling of the Companions that a Special Convocation was held in July ’24 to Acknowledge a new Excellent Master, making twelve Meetings in the year. Lectures being arranged for those meetings when no candidate was available. A notably healthy state of affairs, or so it would seem, but the Chapter found it had to cut its Honoraria due to the state of its funds.

In October 1924 Comp. Samuel McCulloch was installed as M.E.Z, Test Fees were 2.6d (121/2p), and Life Membership £1 „ 3 „ 6d (£1.17 1/2p).; attendances were, on average, in the mid to high 30′s, and Ben. Fund collections about 4/- (20p).

In February 1925 a Petition was received from a Brother of Lodge Maryhill who was 98 years old. In June of 1925 a cheque for £8 „ 17 „ 7d (£8.88p) was received from Mercantile Bank as a 10% settlement for our Benevolent Fund investment after their collapse in 1923. There were, this year, 12 Exaltation and 5 H.M’s., making a total Roll of 587 members.

During the year of M.E.C. James Hunter there were 10 Exaltations and 3 H.M’s. conferred, the total funds reduced by some £50 and various Social and Sporting events took place. On 20th. October M.E.C. James Nicolson took over as ‘Z’ and was installed with his Office-bearers.

There were two further dividends paid from The Mercantile Bank’s Trustees during this period resulting in a further £17 „ 15 „ Od (£17.75p) to the Benevolent Fund.

In the course of this year reference was again made to diminished attendances and it was proposed to put up fees. These diminished attendances were still in the 30′s to mid 40′s. By the end of the year, however, the number attending meetings had fallen to 17 members and there were grave doubts about the state of the General Fund. This stood at £220 „ 2 „ 9d. (£220.14 1/2p) and there were only 1 each of Exaltations and Affiliations during the year. By present day standards (2002) the Chapter was solvent.

1927 – 1932

Andrew Melville 1927 – 1928

Andrew Melville 1928 – 1929

William B. Nicolson 1929 – 1930

William L. Scott 1930 – 1931

Thomas D. Walkinshaw 1931 – 1932

The Twenty-fifth Anniversary successfully celebrated, the Chapter ventures forth confidently towards the future with Andrew Melville newly installed as First Principal for the first of his two years. He was supported by William Nicolson as M.E.H. and Andrew Abercromby as M.E.J. The paraphernalia of the Chapter was insured against damage by fire at the princely premium of 2/6d (12 1/2p). Five Brethren were exalted at the November convocation, three in December, and a full social programme planned for the year. The sum required to commute to Life Member was raised to £1 „ 5 „ Od. (£1.25p). Average attendance throughout the year were in the mid- to low twenties, but at the Installation in October 1928 there were 125 present. The Ben. Fund collection was £2 „ 1 „ Od. (£2.05p).

Andrew Melville’s second year had gotten off to a great start and continued so with a generous smattering of candidates and a full, and profitable, social calendar. The Chapter moved to one of the smaller halls in Wilton Crescent for their normal meetings, but retained the right to use the ‘large’ hall for the three ‘special’ convocations. At the June convocation the Chapter ratified the motion ‘that the regular convocations of May, June, July and August each year be foregone’ and the Chapter started meeting only from September till April each year, There were thirteen exaltations, one Affiliation and two H.L.M’s. created within the year and the total assets of the Chapter declined by some £98.

In October 1929 M.E.C. William B. Nicolson was installed as M.E.Z. and the life of Chapter Maryhill continued in its well-estabished pattern. This year we Exalted eleven new Companions, Affiliated one and created three H.LM’s. The assets of the Chapter again declined, this time by just £24.

William L. Scott was Installed M.E.Z. in October 1930 with due ceremony. The ten Exaltations and two Honorary Life Members created during 1930 – 31 brought the number on the Roll up to 661. Phillippe Durand declined to be re-elected as Scribe ‘E’, an Office he first held in 1910, and was subsequently elected to the Office of M.E.J., which he held for the next two years. The total assets were again increased, this time to £683 „ 11 „ 10d (£683.59p).

October 21st. 1932 saw Thomas D. Walkinshaw installed into the Chair of Zerubbabel and, subsequently, the now usual programme of social activities carried out, shooting, bowls, ‘At Home’, Cabaret Tea, Annual Supper, Golf Match. Eight candidates were exalted and three H.L.M’s. created Total assets in ‘this time of deep depression’ settled at £666 „ 0 „ 10d. (£666.04p).

1932 – 1937

James Cameron 1932 -1933

James S. Thain 1933 -1934

Phillippe Durand 1934 -1935

David A.H. Coults 1935 -1936

Alexander P. Robertson 1936 -1937

M.E.Z. James Cameron called an ‘almost immediate’ meeting of the Office-bearers in view of (as he put it) “the possible dearth of candidates in these difficult times.” It was decided to run the usual social and sports programmes for the Chapter during 1932 – 33. Three Exaltation took place and ten Honorary Members were admitted. The Total Assets of the Chapter dropped by some £14 during the year.

M.E.C. James S. Thain was elected to the ‘Hot Seat’ for the year 1933 – 34. This was a memorable year for Scotland and Freemasonry for early in 1934 your historian was born and set loose to make his thumb mark on humanity. Again, it was decided that, despite persisting difficulties, a full social and sporting programme would be followed. At the November meeting, however, it was unanimously decided to discontinue the usual Chapter “At Home”. It was proposed and carried that, when there was no candidate a lecture be presented to illustrate R. A. Masonry. Attendances at meetings promptly dropped from 30+ to 20+. During the year there were five Exaltations, one Affiliation and two made Honorary Members. Total Assets rose by about £3.

On the evening of 17th. October 1934, M.E.C. Phillippe Durand, who had served for so long as Scribe ‘E’, was installed as M.E.Z. and the attendance promptly rose by more than 10. At the November meeting four applicants, all named Robertson, all members of Lodge Maryhill and ages ranging from 42, through 25 and 23, to 18; the last three being, almost definitely, natural brothers, were approved by ballot. The usual round of social and sporting events was followed with a Whist Drive being held in place of the ‘At Home’. During the year the attendance tapered back to about 30, four new Companions were Exalted and one H.M. created. The Assets of the Chapter remained static at £683. The General Fund, however, showed a drop of some £14 to stand at only £111, giving cause for considerable concern. A Committee was formed to deal with the situation.

And so on to the reign of David Coutts which began as he was installed on October 16th. 1935 before 67 Companions of all ranks up to Depute Grand Superintendent. Concern was still being experienced due to the state of the General Fund and the usual social and sporting programme was agreed. It was decided that the collection taken at meetings, which had hitherto been for the Benevolent Fund, would henceforth go to the General Fund. This, at the January meeting, with 29 Companions present, amounted to 9/- (45p). There were four Exhalations and one Affiliation during the year and the overall assets of the Chapter, with £99 in the General Fund, were estimated at £676, of which £456 was Benevolent Fund.

Alexander Paterson Robertson took charge in October 1936 with the Chapter trying to run to its established programme, but having to spend more and more time evolving schemes to attempt to bolster the flagging General Fund with the Companions contributing a mere pittance of less than 6d. (2 1/2p) each per meeting. By August 24th. 1937 the situation had improved marginally with the Gen. Fund rising by £16 „ 10/- (£16.50p) and the Ben Fund by £14 „ 71- (£14.35p). 18 Exaltations had been conferred during the year. Special mention is made to Companion J. L. Mackintosh “who, quite spontaneously, organised a most successful scheme, which added very materially to Chapter funds.” Someone had taken note.

1937 – 1947

A.P. Robertson 1937 -1938

Henry Wilson 1938 -1939

William Montgomery 1939 -1940

George Simpson 1940 -1941

David Bryson Snr. 1941 -1942

John McL McKenzie 1942 -1943

John Ross 1943 -1944

James K. Symon 1944 -1945

Angus MacDonald 1945 -1946

William B. Marshall 1946 -1947

During this decade Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, in common with every other organisation, civil or private, was plunged into chaos once again by events in ‘The World’ beyond our control. No Minute Books are available to provide us with finite details, but it would appear that Lodge Maryhill lost control of the Crescent Halls at Wilton Crescent and that the Lodge and Chapter were obliged to go separate ways, with the Chapter settling in the Masonic Temple in Bardowie Street, Possilpark.

There is little doubt that the disruption was even greater than this (on the face of it) indicates, with Companions being conscripted into the services (yet again), the air raids, the ‘wolf pack’ attacks on shipping, and the dreadful behaviour of our enemies in the Second World War, with its greater technology, more powerful war-machines, and the hideous atrocities committed in the enemy concentration camps in Europe and the Far East. Many of our Companions were, no doubt, involved and many did not return at the conclusion of hostilities with the detonation of the second atomic bomb at Nagasaki. Many who did return were scarred for life, both mentally and physically, and were, without any doubt, suitably recorded in these missing Minute Books for the sacrifice they had each made.

Let us then pause to consider and to thank our Companions who served in this conflict; In Europe, Africa, the Far East, the Atlantic Convoys, the Home Front. Let us remember the lads and lassies who left home to work in the munitions factories, the farms, the dockyards, aircraft factories, and so on. Those men and women who worked all day and then ‘turned out’ in their own time to train with the Home Guard and Auxiliary Fire Service without thought of recompense. Our grateful thanks must go out to them. Without their efforts we would not be celebrating this centenary

After 1945, on the return of the ex-Servicemen, there was experienced an almost universal need for some form of the comradeship experienced in the Services and attendance at Convocations again rose. Applications for membership increased and, when we can again take up the tale of Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, in October 1947, there is a different story evolving than was apparent in 1937

1947 – 1952

William B. Strachan 1947 – 1948

Percy B. May 1948 – 1949

John McNab 1949 – 1950

Francis Trotter 1950 – 1951

John Patrick 1951 – 1952

At the A.G.M’s. in 1947 and subsequent couple of years the Auditors commented on the fact that the Chapter Funds were in a very healthy state and that they felt confident that they would be even better the next year. Quite a turn around from the years immediately pre-war. The Chapter set out to replace worn regalia. A special Committee was set up to work towards the Chapter’s Golden Jubilee and all seemed well with 14 Exaltations and an average attendance in the 50′s during 1947 – 48; some 20 Exaltaions and 1 Affiliation and an average attendance in the high 40′s during 1948 – 49; and, again, 14 Exaltations and this time 2 Affiliations during 1949 – 50 with an average attendance in the mid to low 40′s. After 1950 the Scribe ‘E’ ceased to record the attendance, the Auditors no longer commented favourably on the General Funds and the number of Exaltations dropped off dramatically.

Scribe ‘E’ from the time of the installation in 1950 was only noting the names of 8 or 9 Office-bearers each Convocation and the level of collection had dropped off to a serious level which, to the mind of the observer, denoted poor attendance and a state within the Chapter which gave cause for grave concern.

M.E.C. Frank Trotter and M.E.C. John Patrick did not have an easy time ‘in the Chair’ with there being recorded only 1 and 4 Exaltations respectively.

The Jubilee Dinner, which took place in the North British Hotel in Queen Street, Glasgow to mark the 50th. Anniversary of our founding, was (apparently) a fairly small affair with ‘a number of Past Principals and their Wives’ being present, together with the Provincial Grand Superintendent. This event took place on 9th. December 1952 in the year of M.E.C. William C. Bryson and not, as one might expect, in June, the month of the founding..

Again, it is notable that no attendance figures are recorded after 1950, nor are there copies of the Balance Sheets. These I would consider a most important milestone in any Chapter’s history and a clear indicator to the health of the Chapter.

Peculiarly, no mention is made of the death of King George VI or the subsequent Coronation of Queen Elizabeth in the Chapter Annals.

1952 – 1957

William C. Bryson 1952 – 1953

David Bryson Jnr. 1953 – 1954

Thomas Lee 1954 – 1955

William H. Liddle 1955 – 1956

James P. McCabe 1956 – 1957

And so we go forward into the year of M.E.C. William C. Bryson with high hopes and enthusiasm. The year produced 15 Exaltations and 2 Affiliations and a full programme of Social events took place, the most adventurous of these being a Clyde Cruise to Tighnabruaich one Saturday in June as part of the celebrations for our Jubilee Year. This ran at a profit, but we are not privileged to know by being told by just how much. There is a supposition that the Chapter finances were not ‘comfortable’.

David Bryson (Jnr.) took over as M.E.Z. on October 21st. 1953, on which date it was reported ‘that the Annual Attendance for last year was 7 up and we had one more candidate’. In this year we only managed 8 Exaltations (7 down on 1952 – 53); there was another Clyde Cruise held on June 20th. 1954 which was thoroughly enjoyed by all and made a profit of £25. The finances, however, were in such a state that the Honoraria for Scribe ‘E’ and Treasurer were too much for us to be able to afford and it was decided that they be halved. The Chapter were also informed that Lodge Glasgow St. Mungo were being forced to sell their Hall and that the Chapter could either buy it or find somewhere else to meet.

This was the situation which pertained when M.E.C. Thomas Lee was elected as M.E.Z. and installed on October 20th. 1954. A programme of social and sporting events was undertaken with 122 people enjoying the dance in November 1954 (profit £17) and a Cruise to Rothesay, with teas there for those who wished them, was held on 29th May 1955 – a profit of £29 resulted. The finances of the Chapter had improved to the extent that the Honoraria for the Scribe ‘E’ and treasurer could be returned to their previous level (8Gns. and 4Gns. respectively). 10 Exaltations took place.

And so, on to the era of William H. Liddle, M.E.Z. and still meeting in Wilton St. but looking for other premises. A new Hall was found in early May of 1956 and the Chapter moved in. The Cruise that month showed a deficit of £8. Donations were sought for furnishings and kitchen equipment for the ‘new’ hall at 1520 Maryhill Road. There were 8 Exaltations carried out in this unusually ‘busy’ year. There were some Companions with serious reservations as to the unseemly haste with which the ‘new’ Hall had been acquired.

James P. McCabe was installed as our M.E.Z. on October 31st. 1956. Disappointment was expressed regarding the lack of ‘material and financial’ support for the ‘new halls’. A Chapter Dinner, a programme of dances, a visit to the circus, and a cruise on 2nd. June 1957 were projected for the enjoyment of the Companions. The cruise made a surplus of £29. Four Exaltations were conferred.

1957 – 1962

Robert P. Lilly 1957 -1958

John McCallum 1958 – 1959

John C. McHarg 1959 – 1960

George A. McCallum 1960 – 1961

John B. Henderson 1961 -1962

At the election meeting in 1957 there were only 11 Office-bearers elected for Robert Lilly’s year as M.E.Z. This, to my twisted mind, shows that the Chapter was not in the healthiest state. Neither was the M.E.Z. for, under doctor’s orders, he resigned from Office on 20th. November 1957, less than one month after installation. The records show that 4 Exaltations took place; and, on 11th. February 1958, it was decided to relinquish the lease of the hall due to “the fault of the Companions who had never given any support whatever”. The annual cruise, which took place in May, was the subject of a report on 9th. December. It had been a success and showed a profit of £53. Ave. numbers for the year 20.9.

The installation in October 1958 saw M.E.C. John McCallum installed as 1st. Principal with 14 other Office-bearers. Things in the Chapter were still perilous, although some 7 Exaltations took place. This could not (apparently) be said of the planned annual cruise. The proposed change of venue was also left in abeyance. Ave. attendance 31.1.

James McHarg took over as M.E.Z. in October 1959 and could boast 14 fellow Office-bearers and 7 Exaltations. Average attendance was up at 33 and there seems to have been a successful summer cruise on May 29th. This is not, however, ever reported on. In February 1960 it was again mooted that we change our meeting place.

At the September meeting there were 22 O.B’s. elected with George A. McCallum taking the chair. At the meeting on 16th. November 1960 it was agreed to apply to move, again, to the Woodside Halls; the A.G.M. was brought forward to September each year and eight Exaltations are recorded. From the level of collections it could be surmised that attendances were up on previous years and things seemed happier in September 1960 when Dr. John B. Henderson was elected as 1st. Principal.

In all there were 22 Office-bearers elected to serve Chapter Maryhill for the year 1961 – 62 and, in all, 10 Exaltations were conferred during the year. The year was blighted, however, when, at the April convocation it was announced that Dr. John B. Henderson and Companion John Hunter, our Janitor, had both ‘passed beyond the Veil’. Twice in five years a First Principal had been ‘taken from us’. This time our Janitor was taken too. The average attendance of (an estimated) 45 does not reflect the sombre mood of 296 during the second part of the year. No summer cruise took place and no Chapter dance was proposed, but press on we must, our A.G.M. was due in September..

1962 -1977

John Bell 1962 – 1963

George C. Mitchell 1963 – 1964

Albert E. G. Morris 1964 – 1965

William McKay 1965 – 1966

John McCabe 1966 – 1967

James Mc. Dunlop 1967 – 1968

William J. Shepherd 1968 – 1969

James Gordon Ritchie 1969 – 1970

Charles M. M. Gow 1970 – 1971

William B. McIntosh 1971 – 1972

Ian Campbell 1972 – 1973

Frazer C. Robb 1973 – 1974

Alan Anderson 1974 – 1975

George Mc. Irvine 1975 – 1976

Richard Jackson 1976 – 1977

At John Bell’s installation on 17th.October 1962 there were 130 Companions names entered in the Sederunt Book, with visitors from at least 7 Chapters. At the next meeting there were 30 in attendance. During the year there was a general decline in attendance which is amply illustrated by that at the 1963 installation which was 77, – a drop of 53 on that of 1962. This reflects a general trend throughout the country at this time and many hours were fruitlessly spent trying to solve the conundrum.

On 24th. May 1963 the Chapter ran a ‘bus run’ to Oban and Inverary which cost £24.00 for the coach (41 seater) with tea at Inverary at 6/- (30p) per head.

By spring of 1965 the rent of the hall at Carrington Street hall crept up to £4 per meeting and there was no supporting ‘Blues’ Lodge so it was decided to move to the Masonic Hall in Bardowie Street, Possilpark at a rent of just £30 per year in September of that year. The immediate result was an increase in Exaltations which was maintained for most of this period.

Various sporting competitions were still being supported with special mention being made to Golf and Shooting, but it does seem that the Bowling competition has fallen by the wayside at this time.

Several Companions were taking advantage of the trend of that period by emigrating to such places as America, Australia, Canada and Bognor Regis. In each case the Companion concerned was wished ‘Bon Voyage’ and given a small memento from the Chapter.

In this extended period of 15 years there is a marked lack of documented records and much has been ‘supposed’ from the verbal evidence sought and the scant documentation available. Please excuse me for any unintentional mistakes and unavoidable omissions. I have done my best under some ‘trying’ circumstances.

1977 – 1982

Archibald McLeod 1977 -1978

Archibald McLeod 1978 – 1979

Richard Herbison 1979 -1980

Richard Herbison 1980 -1981

John McCabe 1981 -1982

In October 1977 Archie MacLeod was installed as M.E.Z. of the Chapter, which was still meeting in Bardowie Street. Attendances were low and the collections at Regular Meetings fell far short of the amount required to clear the hall rent. Archie served a second year as 1st. Principal immediately following his first, and has continued to serve, faithfully, till this present day. The A.G.M. in 1978 was conspicuous by the fact that no figures are recorded regarding the state of the finances and one is left to supposition. At the election of Office-bearers for 1978 – 1979 there were nine Offices filled by P.Z’s. and two Companions were affiliated to 296.

The Chapter, however, appeared to be running effectively and, in fact, was doing so well under M.E.C. Archie MacLeod that it was decided to give him a second year ‘in the Chair’ in 1978. At the November meeting there were 16 named members present with others ‘as per the Sederunt Book’, and the collection was an amazing (by today’s standards) £ 5.50. Collections on the whole averaged about £10.00 over the year.

During the year there were two Affiliates and five new Candidates obligated. In the course of this five year period the British economy went haywire, hall rents rocketed, collections did not keep pace with expenses, attendances dropped and ‘Apology Lists’ were often longer than Sederunt Book entries. There was talk from Provincial Grand R. A. Chapter of cutting the number of meetings per year to counter losses due to non-attendees.

And so things continued during the double term of office by Richard Herbison with a steady flow of candidates and ‘real’ degrees being conferred at almost every meeting. Regular visitations were welcomed into Chapter Maryhill from both out with and within the Province and Maryhill was also doing its fair amount of visiting. This continued into the reign of M.E.Z. John McCabe when the fortunes of the Chapter appear to enter a slow, but marked, decline; a supposition generated by the marked brevity of the Minutes, the serious lack of applicants, and the lengthening Apologies Lists at Meetings. The Chapter re-elected John McCabe as M.E.Z. for 1982 – 1983 and soldiered on.

1982 -1987

john McCabe 1982-1983

Robert Muldoon 1983-1984

Archiebald Angus Cameron 1984-1985

Alan S. Todd 1985-1986

Walter S. Gilchrist 1986-1987

M.E.C. John McCabe was installed for a second year as M.E.Z., and duly thanked the Companions for the honour and the confidence shown in him. His first full meeting in November coincided with a total ban on alcoholic drinks in Possilpark Masonic Hall. The collection for the evening was £7.50p. The following month this was down to £5.40p and the M.E.Z. was also appointed Social Convenor. The January 1983 meeting was abandoned due to the Hall not being opened till 8.30 p.m. and a discussion meeting took place. The only additions to the Chapter during this year were M.E.C. William Noble McNeil who affiliated from Cadder R.A.C. as member No. B001 on 18th May 1983, and Companions Walter Stenhouse Gilchrist (B002) and Allan Spiers Todd (B003), both also from Cadder.

Robert Muldoon, M.E.Z. for 1983 – 1984 started his year with a change of venue to the Scout Hall, Kelbourne Street, and advanced three Brethren to the degree of E.M. Two of these were later exalted on December 6th. In February another Brother, John McDowall, was exalted by a team of Office-bearers from Provincial Grand R.A.C. of Glasgow. In March we had to move to Vulcan Street M.H. and thereafter to Shakespeare Street Youth Club Hall due to water damage at the Scout Hall; at least, that was the plan. M.E.C. John Pollock managed to find us and became our newest Affiliate. April’s meeting took place in the Carrington Club premises in Carrington Street. This Club was to remain our meeting place till November 1988.

During the year of 1984 – 85 while A. Angus Cameron was M.E.Z. there were three Affiliation, four Exaltations, and one creation of an H.L.M. within the Chapter. There was also some evidence of financial difficulties and some internal disharmony but this was speedily resolved and 296 continued successfully to exist. Is it significant, however, that the M.E.C. became “ill” after his December Convocation (?), and the Chapter continued to meet under its I.P.Z. ? No apology is recorded on Angus Cameron’s behalf.

Those who lived through this time will recall the financial difficulties which people in general were experiencing and many calls were being made on our Benevolence Fund. Allan S. Todd’s year occurred in the latter stages of this difficult period and it was W. N. McNeil’s peculiar duty as Treasurer to try to sort it all out on Maryhill’s behalf. In this year the M.E.Z. “voluntarily absented himself after the March meeting, one Comp. was Affiliated and one Exalted, and the Chapter Committee had to deal with a “disciplinary matter”. Walter S. Gilchrist became M.E.Z. in 1986 and two each of Affiliations and Exaltations took place; this, in itself, must have gone a considerable way to alleviate the downward spiral of Chapter funds. The attendance at the AG.M. in September was 11.

1987 – 1992

John Pollock 1987 – 1988

William J. Cadger 1988 – 1989

John McCabe 1989 – 1990

William N. McNeil 1990 – 1991

David Walker 1991 – 1992

The year of reign of M.E.C. John Pollock got off to an inglorious start as two of his chosen Office-bearers were refused installation due to the fact that they were already Office-bearers in their ‘Mother’ Chapters. The Principal’s caps still being used in 2002, were donated to the Chapter at this time by M.E.C. Robert Law of Moniebrough R.A.C. and ‘dedicated for use’ at that installation meeting in the Carrinton Club. M.E.C. Robert Law was also made an Honorary Life Member with due ceremony. During the year there were two Exaltations, one Affiliation and two Honorary Life Members created. The attendance showed a slight increase as did the balance in the General Fund. The Chapter was in good health as it was entrusted to M.E.C. William J. Cadger as the M.E.Z. (elect) for 1988 – 1989.

The year of M.E.C. Bill Cadger also started memorable with the Carrington Club terminating our lease as of November 11th. 1988 – new premises had to be found, and found quickly. A search was instigated and a hall found in the Caledonia Institute, 14 Fitzroy Place at a rent of £15.00 per meeting. It was decided to move to that venue, for our future meetings. The last Bro. to be accepted and acknowledged as an E.M. at the Carrington Club was Bro. Robert Stewart McNee, No 1013 on the Roll. – he was also the 1st. Companion to be exalted at the Caledonian Institute. Concern was being expressed with respect to the falling attendance and, after some discussion it was decided ‘to wait and see if our numbers increased’. Income for the year fell a little short of our expenses due, mainly, to the drop in attendance, but we did win the Provincial Golf Tournament.

On October 3rd. 1989 M.E.C. John McCabe was installed as M.E.Z. At the November meeting there was a ‘Sick Report’ concerning Comp’s. John Pollock and James Blain, and M.E.C. George Morton was made an Honorary Life Member. By a quirk of fate, John Pollock managed to Propose that night that the Chapter paid its lawful dues. At the December meeting M.E.C. Cecil Grossman, was made an Honorary Life Member of Maryhill. By our meeting in March both George and Cecil had Affiliated to the Chapter, as had Comp. Derek James Brown, and M.E.C’s Tom Baxter and William Kennedy had been ‘Granted Honorary Life Membership’. In April the same accolade was granted to M.E.C. Alex Harley. On the down side, on of our M.E.C’s was charged ‘outwith the Chapter’ with Breach of the Peace and was severely admonished by the Companions. The Installation meeting was approved to be held in the Masonic Hall in Ardery Street on October 30th.

William Noble McNeil’s year started with him being unwell and missing the installation meeting, he recovered and was duly installed at the November meeting. There were no Candidates during this year, but one Affiliate and four H.L.M’s. were made. The Chapter moved to Priory Road for their meetings. Ave. Attendance -19.

In April 1992, in M.E.C. David Walker’s year, a certain Bro. Allan Jenkins, of Lodge Concord, No. 1341 was exalted as No. 1026 on the Roll. In September Bro. Edward Ling of Lodge Knightswood, No. 1445 was similarly exalted.

1992 – 1997

David Walker 1992 – 1993

Edward Ling 1993 – 1994

William N. McNeil 1994 – 1995

Archiebald MacLeod 1995 – 1996

Archiebald MacLeod 1996 – 1997

According to the Ex. Scribe ‘E’ of the time, Comp. Archie MacLeod, P.Z., this period of five years started with the Chapter being in good spirits with the Installation being carried out by three well known P.Z’s. from Roman Fort Royal Arch Chapter, No. 501. The hall rent at that time being £40.00 per meeting and the collection on Installation Night amassing £30.00. At the November Meeting there were two ceremonies that of Honorary Life Membership on Comp. Robert Duncan, and that of Exaltation on Edward Ling. He made spectacular progress by being elected Superintendent of Works at the December meeting that year, and two Applicants were advanced to the Degree of Excellent Master. The January 1993 meeting was ‘called off due to inclement weather’. In September 1993 Comp. Edward Ling was elected First Principal (elect) by Chapter Maryhill, surely the most rapid promotion in Royal Arch History.

By November 1993 the financial state of the Chapter was giving cause for concern and ‘more money in the collection plate’, ‘more candidates’, ‘fewer meet¬ings’ were being suggested as possible remedies. In the month of January 1994 M.E.C. John Pollock, P.Z. ‘Passed Beyond the Veil’. One Companion was Affiliated during this year. In October 1994 William Noble McNeil was installed as M.E.Z. and at the next meeting there was one Applicant for each of Exaltation and Affiliation. A further Applicant was processed in April and May 1994 when a Companion of Roman Fort R.A.C. also petitioned for affiliation. Comps. John McIntyre of Roman Fort and William Gourley of Ellangowan were made Honorary Life Members.

In October 1994 M.E.C. Archibald McLeod was, again, installed as M.E.Z., a post he was to hold for the next two years. In January 1995 a Brother applied to join and was accepted. Progress R.A.C., No. 377 was invited to our February meeting to confer the Degrees up to E.M., but that meeting was cancelled due to ‘blizzard conditions’. In September 1996 there was a Petition for exaltation and also an application for affiliation from Comp. William Gourley, both very welcome. Willie Gourley was rewarded by immediately being made Treasurer (elect). In November 1996 the Mark Degree was conferred on a Brother by a deputation from Chapter Progress headed by M.E.C. Philip Segal, which team then proceeded to confer the E.M. Degree on the new M.M.M. In April 1997 a R.A. Degree was conferred by Chapter Progress and M.E.C. William K. Leckenby was made an Honorary Life Member. During the year there had been an average attendance of 19 Comps. and the Balance Sheet showed a slight ‘profit’ over the year

1997 – 2002

Alan Jenkins 1997 – 1998

Alan Jenkins 1998 – 1999

Andrew C. Brodrick 1999 – 2000

William N. McNeil 2000 – 2001

William N. McNeil 2001 – 2002

Are the immediate past five years of a Chapter’s life truly history ? Perhaps not, but they are still a vital part of its story, and they will be history in the future. During the reading of all the Minute Books which are still in possession of the Chapter various trends have become apparent and this quinquennium is no exception. There seems to be a cyclic effect in operation with the Chapter having a period of development followed by a period of apparent steady ‘existence’, then into an increasing decline, a levelling off, and back into a period of development. This latest cycle started, perhaps, in the late 80′s and was not helped by accommodation problems. It coincides with an almost universal ‘depression’ of all things moral, and especially those related to what were previously considered ‘standards’.

Allan Jenkins was installed as M.E.Z. in October 1997, and inherited a Chapter which was, to be honest, not in the best of health. There were 32 Companions at his installation which can be compared with the 147 (or so) at the early installation meetings. Allan’s 2nd. Principal was Archie McLeod who was also I.P.Z. 3rd. Principal (elect) was Richard J. S. Smith who, unfortunately, could not be present for installation. On this occasion the Provincial Deputation was headed by M.E.C. William N. McNeil, Provincial Grand ‘J’, and one of the Chapter’s own P.Z’s. The installation meeting was graced by representatives from Chapters Commercial No. 79, Alexandria & Bonhill No. 121, Progress No. 377, St. Vincent No. 457, Ellangowan No. 487, Roman Fort No. 501, and Cadder No. 812, who each made suitable affirmative comment on the Ceremonial and wished Chapter Maryhill success, tendering fraternal greetings in the process.

Attendances during this 5-year period averaged out at 20 or less. Candidates were few and far between, and the tradition of visiting was strenuously upheld. Those in regular attendance remained in good and optimistic spirits.

A great deal of credit must go to the faithful few who have worked so hard to maintain the traditions of our Chapter, especially those who, during these time., have Affiliated to, taken office in, agreed to fill the Chair of First Principal and worked hard to keep the traditions of Maryhill alive and going.

May their spirit persevere, sustain us during this difficult spell, and propel us all forwards into our next 100 years as Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, No. 296

The Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Scotland

We, the Most Excellent Grand Principals, and Office-bearers of the Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Scotland undersigned,

To all and sundry to whose knowledge these presents shall come and particularly to the Companions of the Holy Royal Arch Degree of Freemasonry in Scotland and elsewhere, Greeting:

WHEREAS, certain of our Brethren, Companions of the said Holy Royal Arch Degree, resident in Maryhill Glasgow, In the County of Lanark – J. Wilson Bain, Robert Crawford., Andrew Fergus, William Henderson, Thomas Goudie, William Dunbar, Frederick Morris, John L. Summerville , Thomas Aitken, having presented unto us their humble Suit and Petition, preying that We would be pleased to grant them our Charter, in manner therein and herein aftermentioned; WE in consideration of such their request, Do hereby grant unto them Our Charter, constituting and forming them into a Regular Chapter of the said Holy Royal Arch Degree of

Freemasonry, according to the ancient ordinances and constitutions thereof; And seeing that WE, the said Most Excellent Grand Principals and Office-bearers foresaid, by and with the special advice and consent of this our Supreme Grand Chapter, in

Grand Convocation assembled at Edinburgh, this Eighteenth Day of June, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Two, Did ascertain and determine the said Chapter of Royal Arch Freemasons to stand Number Two- Hundred and Ninty six on the Roll

Now Know Ye, That We, the said Most Excellent Grand Principals, and Office-bearers foresaid, Do hereby adjudge and ordain that the aforesaid Chapter of Royal Arch Freemasons, to be holden to us and our Successors for ever, under the conditions and declarations after expressed, to stand upon the Roll of our Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter by the Name and Appellation of Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, Glasgow, Lanarkshire, Number 296, upon the Registry of Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Scotland; and We do hereby with advice and consent aforesaid, Give, Grant and Commit unto them the full Powers, Privileges, and immunities pertaining to a regular Chapter of the Holy Royal Arch Degree of Freemasonry, by the ancient constitutions of the craft; Moreover, WE do hereby, with advice and consent aforesaid Ratify and Confirm the Appointments of Companions

J. Wilson Baim, Z.

Robert Crawford H.

Andrew Fergus J.

William Henderson E

Thomas Goudie N

William Dunbar Treas

Frederick Morris 1st Soj.

John L. Sommerville 2nd. Soj.

Thomas Aitkin 3rd Soj.

and generally of the whole remanent Office-bearers of the said Chapter until the day of the Annual Election next to come, appointed for the observance of and each of the Chapters holding of and under Us by the Regulations of our Supreme Grand Royal

Arch Chapter; after specified; With full Warrant and Authority to them and their Successors in Office, in all time coming, to convene, Open, and Hold a Chapter of the foresaid Holy Royal Arch Degree, under the Name and Designation aforesaid, and no other in Maryhill, Glasgow, in the County of Lanark and nowhere else, upon the third Wednesday of each Month or of the Year as they shall judge expedient, or upon such other day of the week as to them shall seem meet, they always notifying such eventual change of their day of Meeting to our Grand Scribe E for the time being; and then and there Admit and Exalt Brethren to the Excellent and Holy Royal Arch Degrees, and transact such business as they shall judge conducive to the good order and Regulation of the said Chapter and to the general advantage and welfare of Royal Arch Masonry; and to enact such Bye-laws for the government of their said Chapter as they shall think requisite, subject always to our Inspection for approval or abrogation; at the same time it is to be expressly understood that this is independent any other regular Meetings which they may occasionally hold for the purpose of Exaltation and Instruction, or any other business connected with their said Chapter, of which no Notification to us shall be deemed necessary; And WE do hereby Give and Grant to the Three Most Excellent Principals of said Chapter, for the time being, full Power, Warrant, and Authority to Sit, Act, and Vote in our Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter; providing always that, should it be inconvenient for said Office-Bearers to attend personally, they may depute said powers by Commission or Warrant, to any Regular Royal Arch Mason, provided the same regularly approved of by majority of said Chapter, on the day set apart for the Election of the Office-bearers, who shall be Authorised to appoint two other Royal Arch Masons, as second and third Principals, agreeable to the Regulations and Laws of our said Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter after narrated; Declaring always, That the Office-bearers of said Chapter, hereby constituted, and their Successors in Office, in name and behalf of themselves, and the said Chapter, shall by acceptation hereof, become bound and obliged, as they are hereby taken firmly bound to conform to the following Orders and Regulations already enacted, and to all and every Act, Regulation, Statute, and Ordinance, to be enacted at any future period by us and our said Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter, or by our and their Successors in all time coming, and that under such penalty as We or our Successors shall be pleased to inflict, in default of conformity thereto; and which Orders and Regulations already enacted are as follows, viz. – That the Election of Office-bearers for the said Chapter shall take place annually upon annually upon the third day of September, being the Festival of the Autumnal Equinox, and when that Festival shall fall on a Saturday or Sunday the celebration thereof and Election shall take place on the Monday thereafter; That all Commissions or Proxy Warrants shall also be granted upon that day, and no other; That no Brother shall be Exalted to the foresaid Holy Royal Arch Degree until after having been raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason and advance to the Degree of Mark Master in a regular constituted Lodge and shall have also admitted to the Excellent Degree in due form; That the Name of every Brother Exalted to the Royal Arch Degree from the date hereof shall be regularly Registered in the Books of our Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter, for which a fee of Three Shillings each, or such other sum as may hereafter be found necessary to exact shall be paid towards the Charity Fund; That no commission or intercourse shall be held by the Chapter hereby constituted with any aggregate Body holding Meetings of the Royal Arch Degree without a regular Charter; That these Regulations be engrossed in the Records of the said Chapter, Number Two-Hundred and Ninety-Six upon the Registry of our said Supreme Gran Royal Arch Chapter; and that every future or further enactment made by Us or our Successors, by and with the advice and consent of our said Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter, and communicated to the said Chapter by our Grand Scribe E for the time being, shall be regularly entered upon the Records, and form a part of the Code of Laws of the said Chapter. Under all which conditions this Chapter is granted and accepted of, and no otherwise.

Given under the seal of our Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter at Edinburgh, this Eighteenth day of June, in the Year One thousand Nine Hundred and two (Signed)

C. M. RAMSAY, Grand Z


R. S. BROWN Grand Scribe E


CH. MARTIN HARDIE Grand Treasurer

W. W. ROBERTSON Grand Recorder

W. M. KELLY Grand Chancellor

The Recorder’s Journal.

In the early days of 296 the Office of Recorder was initiated, but no obvious duties attached to it initially. Then came the Great War and in the early days of ‘year’ 1916 – 1917 the Chapter, in the words of the then Recorder, Companion Robert J. Cuthbert, “resolved to appoint a Recorder whose Office should no longer be a mere sinecure and who should do some real work in the matter of placing on record the chief moments and interesting events in the history of the Chapter.” The next few pages are a direct copy of the words of three such Recorders, including spelling anomalies.

The worthy and esteemed Chancellor of the time, Mr. Robert Leadbetter, generously gifted the splendid volume (Recorder’s Journal) to the Chapter. The new recorder, with fourteen years of arrears to overtake, was given a free hand and full responsibility as to the form and matter of the journal; and so to work he proceeds.

Mr. Wilson Bain, who is acclaimed by all his fellow founders as the “father” of Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter – and we must take this overwhelming vote on this question in preference to the modest disclaimer of Mr. Bain, himself – has kindly furnished the Recorder with the following introduction :-

“Craft Masonry had been established in Maryhill for many years before there were any signs of interest being aroused in Royal Arch Masonry among the Brethren of Lodge 510. This may have been due to several causes. In the early days of the Lodge the membership may be described as purely local. Maryhill had not yet been annexed by the City of Glasgow, there were fewer facilities for travel to and from the city, and the little borough of Maryhill was, to a large extent, self-contained. Besides, it is admitted that Royal Arch Masonry flourishes best in larger centres where Lodges are numerous, for not every craft mason passes through the Royal Arch, and hence the need for a chapter having a wide area to draw upon. But the closing years of the nineteenth century saw Lodge “Maryhill” in a position of exceptional strength and vitality, not so much in numbers as in fine enthusiasm for Masonic Knowledge, and an intelligent grasp of the beauty and grandeur of its teaching and ritual. Out of this sprang a desire to make it possible for the Brethren of the Lodge to make it possible to meet under their own rooftree as a Royal Arch Chapter, and after careful and prolonged consideration it was resolved to take steps to obtain a charter for Maryhill. The pioneers of this movement were all brethren whose interest in masonry had led them to seek further Masonic light in the older Chapters of Glasgow, and the favourable esteem in which these brethren were held in the province did much to help the young chapter of Maryhill in the first days of its existence.”

Foremost among these pioneers spoken of by Mr. Bain, was Mr. Bain, himself, Messrs. Robert Crawford, Andrew Fergus, William Henderson, Thomas Goudie, William Dunbar, Frederick Morris, John L. Sommerville and Thom Aitken, who obtained a charter on the 5th. of July 1902 from the Supreme Grand Chapter of the Royal Arch Degree to open a regular chapter of the Royal Arch Degree in Maryhill.

On 6th. August 1902 a preliminary meeting of the new Royal Arch Chapter Maryhill, No. 296 was held at 172 Wyndford Street, and the numbers exalted and affiliated were most encouraging.

A further step was taken on 20th. August 1902 when the Provincial Grand Royal Arch Chapter over the Lower Ward of Lanarkshire met at 172 Wyndford Street for the purpose of formally constituting and dedicating the young chapter.

The Chapter, having no funds of its own at first, was indebted to Maryhill Lodge for a loan of money with which to carry on the necessary work, but that is paid off, and the Chapter is possessed of all the necessary worldly goods.

The names of the office bearers and notes on the various First Principals from the beginning of the Royal Arch Chapter until the present date (Sept. 1917) are given in other sections of this journal, and in setting forth these the writer has to acknowledge his indebtedness to all the companions whom he has interviewed, and whose patience and Kindness in giving information was equalled only by their extreme modesty in telling of the work they have done to further the interests of the Chapter. The Recorder has tried to be as accurate as possible in his statements, and imbued with the idea that impartiality is the supreme desideration in a work of this nature, has tried to write with justice and without fear or favour, an attempt which has been both helped and hindered by the fact that much of the matter dealt with relates to a time when he had not yet seen the light of Freemasonry.

Session 1916-1917 With the events to the Chapter during the year 1916 – 17, however, he is thoroughly cognisant and it is a source of great pleasure to recall them. Our Chapter year 1916 – 1917 has been a momentous one in the history of the worlds well as in our particular branch of the Arch. Europe has been wracked with a war unparalleled alike in regard to the numbers engaged, the fierceness of the fighting, and the terrible havoc and destruction that are wrought from day to day. Few amongst us have not felt its ravages in the loss of those near and dear to us.

Some of our companions have been in the thick ‘of the fight. Yet as a Chapter we have been prospering beyond all precedent under the leadership of our genial chief, Mr. Daniel Borland. The Chapter has enrolled Thirty-three new members which constitutes a record and this despite the fact that our Kilsyth Brethren formerly a splendid source of new members have formed a Royal Arch Chapter of their own. The various sporting competitions have been entered into with that thoroughness and zest usually displayed by the members of Maryhill Chapter.

The Meetings have been both large and enthusiastic, and the relations existing between the companions have been pre-eminently harmonious in character. To many, the Chapter has been a means of lifting the mind from the worries and stress of the time, and Companions have there found in abundant evidence those expressions of brotherly love and unity which are so essential for the success of a Royal Arch Chapter.

Session 1917-18. At the beginning of our session the Shadows of war though hanging heavy over us showed distinct indications of clearing away. The failure of our erring Ally, Russia, has deferred that happy time, and the year 1917 – 18 has proved one of the most anxious periods of the War. Thanks to the fact that our own inimitable soldiers and those of our Allies are now strengthened with the fresh and lusty manhood of America, our arch-enemy can look for nothing but inglorious defeat. Our Chapter has furnished its quota of men who have suffered in the good cause – all honour be to them.

The internal activities of the Chapter have been conspicuously successful, and Brother McNab has reason to congratulate himself upon his successful reign as First Principal. The various financial and philanthropic schemes have succeeded as well as could be desired, while the regular meetings, the whist drive, and the usual sporting competitions have all been exceptionally well attended. Session 1918-1919. At the beginning of the Session, that dark shadow of war has cleared away with Gt. Britain and our Allies Victorious over that Great War Lord who was the means of casting this world into turmoil.

(The annual at home) of Chapter members was held on Wed. 15th. Jan 1919 in Wilton Halls, 106 Napiershall St. where a company numbering 168 members, wives, & children were present. The programme consisting of games, dancing, & music, which everyone seemed to enjoy.

On the 28th. of August 1919 an enjoyable evening cruise on the “Gypsy Queen” took place in aid of Lodge Maryhill 510′s Building Fund, the numbers participating being 250. During the year the usual shooting and bowling competitions were upheld with great enthusiasm by the Companions


1902-1903 John Wilson Bain by R. J. Cuthbert Recorder

6th Sept. 1917

Companion John Wilson Bain was initiated, passed, and raised in Maryhill Lodge in 1889 in the little hall in Wyndford Street. In the following year he was elected secretary and after serving for two years in that office he was raised to the high office of worthy master. Soon after his admission to Masonry Companion Bain’s interest in the history and symbolism of Freemasonry was thoroughly aroused, and his studies were both wide and continuous. The result was that during his reign as Master he organised a series of lectures in open Lodge on Masonic history, the various degrees, Masonic music, etc., and by enlisting the services of his office bearers he did much to arouse an intelligent enthusiasm in matters Masonic. Companion Bain became a member of Chapter Glasgow Cathedral No. 67 in 1894, and in the same year was admitted to the ranks of the Lodge of Royal Ark Mariners and Council of Red Cross Knights. In the following year, he became a frater of the Rosicrucian College, in which he was ultimately advanced to the presiding office of Celebrant and had the Vlll° conferred on him. He also contributed several lectures in the college. In 1902 he had the honour of being appointed the First Prin. Z. of the newly established Chapter Maryhill 296. Mr. Bain has been a member of the Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow, a Grand Steward of Grand Lodge and a member of the Supreme and the Provincial Grand Chapter of Glasgow. He is a life member of Lodge Mother Kilwinning, No. 0, and an honorary member of many Lodges and Chapters. Early in his career he became a member of the corresponding circle of Lodge Ars Quatuor Coronati London. In 1900 when the Lodge had arranged to occupy the large new hall in Wyndford St.

Bro. Bain was instructed to design a full set of furniture, and this he did in collaboration with Bro. William Tait Conner, whose professional skill as an architect combined with Bro. Bain’s Knowledge of Masonic symbolism, and the liberality of the Brethren past and present resulted in Lodge Maryhill becoming possessed of a full equipment of Lodge furniture of which it may justly be proud.

Such a record is one of which the most ambitious mason might be proud, and there is small wonder that Mr. Bain’s services at all Kinds of ceremonial and important Masonic functions are in such great demand, and that lodges and chapters so often seek his advice regarding difficult masonic questions which can be solved only by a man who has done much research work, and who has been associated for many years with the most learned and distinguished masons in Scotland.

1903- 1904 ROBERT CRAWFORD by R.J.Cuthbert Recorder

29th April 1917

Mr. Robert Crawford has long been a striking personality in Masonic circles. Initiated into Maryhill Lodge in 1890, he afterwards held the offices of treasurer and of Junior and Senior Warden in his Mother Lodge. After demitting Office as Treasurer he was presented by the brethren with a Past Treasurer’s jewel. Brother Crawford occupied the chair of Maryhill Lodge during the years 1897 – 1899 and was instrumental in introducing Life Membership and in the inauguration of a Social Fund for the Lodge. His “magnum opus”, however in Masonry was carried on chiefly after his retiral from the Lodge chair, for from that time onwards he has had a large and varied experience in conferring degrees in various parts of the country. In the First, Second, and Third Degrees as well as that of Excellent Master and the Ceremony of the Mark “Degree” he is usually at home. A Companion of St. Andrews Chapter, 69, Brother Crawford was one of the founders of Maryhill Chapter, the chair of which he occupied during the year 1903 – 04 as well as in the latter part of the succeeding session after the death of Companion Andrew Fergus. His popularity while First Principal is proved by the large number of intrants into the Chapter during his period of office. In Provincial Grand Lodge, Brother Crawford has been President of Stewards, Director of Ceremonies, Junior Warden, Senior Warden, Chairman of the Provincial Grand Committee, and also of Provincial General Management Committee, while he has served as a member of Grand Committee for over five years. Further, he is a member of Royal Ark Mariners, Red Cross Knights, the Royal Order of Scotland, and the Rosicrutian College of the West of Scotland. In business Mr. Crawford is manager of the white lead factory of Messrs. Alexander Fergusson & Co., Lead and Colour Works, Glasgow, for which post his attainments in chemistry, metallurgy, and geology have stood him in good stead. Mr. Crawford’s Knowledge of nearly every branch of Masonry, his unassuming manner and practical common sense, together with his readiness to perform any task when called upon, have deservedly gained for him a prominent place both in the Lodge and in the Royal Arch Chapter of Maryhill.

1904 – 1095 Andrew Fergus by R. J. Cuthbert

29th. April 1917

Companion Andrew Fergus, the third occupant of the chair of M. E. P. Z. in Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, was a splendid worker in Free Masonry, and it was felt by all the companions that his promotion to the supreme post was happy and well deserved. Unfortunately, Mr. Fergus did not complete his term of office, and when he “finished his sojourn” on 26th June 1905, while in office, his death was felt to be the cause of more than grief. Mr. Fergus began his Masonic work in Kilwinning (No. 4) Lodge of which he was an initiate, and afterwards he became an Honorary member of Lodge Maryhill, which he presented with a symbolic carpet, and to the Benevolent Fund of which he was always a most generous subscriber. Mr Fergus also brought honour to Maryhill Lodge by having held the office of Senior Warden of Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow, and by being a member of Grand Lodge Committee.

A member of the higher orders of Free Masonry up to and including the eighteenth degree, Mr. Fergus was noted for his genial and Kindly disposition, and did much to Kindle enthusiasm in the brethren and companions who had the good fortune to come into contact with him.

1905 -1906 John L Sommerville by R. J. Cuthbert, Recorder,

Mr. John Lindsay Sommerville is one of the most devoted and best Known sons of Maryhill Lodge, to which he has proved his loyalty for many years not only by his generosity in presenting valuable gifts for the benefit of the brethren but also by his faithful attendance and work long after vacating the office of R. W.M.

In the Lodge he held the offices of Junior and Senior Deacon, and Junior Warden and was R. W. M. during the two years 1900 – 1902. He presented to the Lodge the Senior Warden’s Chair that is still in use and also an excellent box of working tools. Mr Sommerville was R. W. M. at the time that the desire arose to form a R. A. C. in Maryhill and, being a companion of St. Andrew Chapter, 69, he was a most enthusiastic supporter of the scheme which, in no small measure, owed its successful completion to him. In the Chapter he held the offices of the three Sojourners and the three chairs, being First Principal during the year 1905 – 1906, which proved a very happy and prosperous year in the history of the Chapter.

An enthusiastic bowler himself, he in conjunction with his brother, Mr. Robert Sommerville, presented the much valued Sommerville Bowling Cup to Maryhill R. A. C., and it is difficult to overestimate the amount of healthful pleasure that companions receive from the sport connected with this coveted trophy.

Mr Sommerville has a very wide Masonic connection. He became a member of the Red Cross of Constantine in 1904, and of the Royal Order of Scotland in 1916. He held the chair of St. Mungo Preceptory in 1908 and of St. Mungo Priory in 1909. He has held several offices in the Provincial Grand Chapter of Glasgow, and was further honoured in 1913 by being commissioned as Most Excellent Third Grand Principal.

A man of sterling character, Mr. Sommerville has taken an active part in the civic life of Maryhill, having done work as a member of the Ward Committee.

In business he has “made good”, and is joint proprietor with Mr. William Sommerville of the well Known Sorn Dairy.

The Dairymen’s association are to be congratulated on their choice of Mr. Sommerville as their Chairman for three years in succession.

1906 1907 William Henderson by R. J. Cuthbert, Recorder,

13th. June 1917.

Mr. William Henderson possesses a strongly marked personality, and since his initiation into Maryhill Lodge in 1896, he has taken a prominent part in the proceedings of the Lodge, where his qualities as a debater, and his blunt outspoken manner will long be remembered. The office of Sword Bearer was the first one entrusted to Mr. Henderson, but soon he was marked out for something higher and for eight years he was an efficient and capable secretary. In conjunction with Bro. W. P. M. Black, Bro. Henderson had much work in connection with the Masonic Bazaar of 1903. In 1906. Bro. Henderson suggested the formation of a Lodge of Instruction. Unable to have his wishes fully carried out, he was, however, able to arrange special meetings for lectures on Masonic Subjects and discussions by the members. Mr. Henderson was a zealous supporter of the Building Fund schemes, and of the various Benevolent Fund schemes.

Brother Henderson was exalted in the Royal Arch Chapter St. Andrew No. 69 in 1900, and in 1902 he became one of the founders of Maryhill R. A. C., of which he was the first Scribe E. He held the three principal chairs, being made M. E. P. Z. on 17th. Oct. 1906. In the same year Comp. Henderson was made R. W. Mark Master.

The following are some of the higher honours held by Companion Henderson: -

Member of the Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow;

Member of the Master and Past Master Association of the Masonic Province of Glasgow since its foundation;

Member of the Correspondence Circle Quator Coronati Lodge;

He has been elevated in the “Royal Ark Mariners Lodge” and Council “Red Cross Knights”, and he became attached to “St. Andrew” Chapter in 1901. He became W. Commander N., and M.E.C. in 1907. Mr. Henderson is a member of the Religious and Military Order of the Temple in Scotland; the Knights Templar, Preceptory of St. Mungo, Glasgow, the Order of the Red Cross of Constantine; the Masonic Order of K. H. S., and the Holy Order of St. John the Evangelist, Glasgow Conclave No. 3.

All these honours speak for themselves and testify to the part that Freemasonry has filled in Mr. Henderson’s life.

1905 -1906 John L Sommerville by R. J. Cuthbert, Recorder,

Mr. John Lindsay Sommerville is one of the most devoted and best Known sons of Maryhill Lodge, to which he has proved his loyalty for many years not only by his generosity in presenting valuable gifts for the benefit of the brethren but also by his faithful attendance and work long after vacating the office of R. W. M.

In the Lodge he held the offices of Junior and Senior Deacon, and Junior Warden and was R. W. M. during the two years 1900 – 1902. He presented to the Lodge the Senior Warden’s Chair that is still in use and also an excellent box of working tools. Mr Sommerville was R. W. M. at the time that the desire arose to form a R. A. C. in Maryhill and, being a companion of St. Andrew Chapter, 69, he was a most enthusiastic supporter of the scheme which, in no small measure, owed its successful completion to him. In the Chapter he held the offices of the three Sojourners and the three chairs, being First Principal during the year 1905 – 1906, which proved a very happy and prosperous year in the history of the Chapter.

An enthusiastic bowler himself, he in conjunction with his brother, Mr. Robert Sommerville, presented the much valued Sommerville Bowling Cup to Maryhill R. A. C., and it is difficult to overestimate the amount of healthful pleasure that companions receive from the sport connected with this coveted trophy.

Mr Sommerville has a very wide Masonic connection. He became a member of the Red Cross of Constantine in 1904, and of the Royal Order of Scotland in 1916. He held the chair of St. Mungo Preceptory in 1908 and of St. Mungo Priory in 1909. He has held several offices in the Provincial Grand Chapter of Glasgow, and was further honoured in 1913 by being commissioned as Most Excellent Third Grand Principal.

A man of sterling character, Mr. Sommerville has taken an active part in the civic life of Maryhill, having done work as a member of the Ward Committee.

In business he has “made good”, and is joint proprietor with Mr. William Sommerville of the well Known Sorn Dairy.

The Dairymen’s association are to be congratulated on their choice of Mr. Sommerville as their Chairman for three years in succession.

1906 -1907 William Henderson by R. J. Cuthbert, Recorder,

13th. June 1917.

Mr. William Henderson possesses a strongly marked personality, and since his initiation into Maryhill Lodge in 1896, he has taken a prominent part in the proceedings of the Lodge, where his qualities as a debater, and his blunt outspoken manner will long be remembered. The office of Sword Bearer was the first one entrusted to Mr. Henderson, but soon he was marked out for something higher and for eight years he was an efficient and capable secretary. In conjunction with Bro. W. P. M. Black, Bro. Henderson had much work in connection with the Masonic Bazaar of 1903. In 1906. Bro. Henderson suggested the formation of a Lodge of Instruction. Unable to have his wishes fully carried out, he was, however, able to arrange special meetings for lectures on Masonic Subjects and discussions by the members. Mr. Henderson was a zealous supporter of the Building Fund schemes, and of the various Benevolent Fund schemes.

Brother Henderson was exalted in the Royal Arch Chapter St. Andrew No. 69 in 1900, and in 1902 he became one of the founders of Maryhill R. A. C., of which he was the first Scribe E. He held the three principal chairs, being made M. E. P. Z. on 17th. Oct. 1906. In the same year Comp. Henderson was made R. W. Mark Master.

The following are some of the higher honours held by Companion Henderson: -

Member of the Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow;

Member of the Master and Past Master Association of the Masonic Province of Glasgow since its foundation;

Member of the Correspondence Circle Quator Coronati Lodge;

He has been elevated in the “Royal Ark Mariners Lodge” and Council “Red Cross Knights”, and he became attached to “St. Andrew” Chapter in 1901. He became W. Commander N., and M.E.C. in 1907. Mr. Henderson is a member of the Religious and Military Order of the Temple in Scotland; the Knights Templar, Preceptory of St. Mungo, Glasgow, the Order of the Red Cross of Constantine; the Masonic Order of K. H. S., and the Holy Order of St. John the Evangelist, Glasgow Conclave No. 3.

All these honours speak for themselves and testify to the part that Freemasonry has filled in Mr. Henderson’s life.

1908 – 1909 Alexander Blewes by R. J. Cuthbert, Recorder,

27th. May 1917.

Mr. Alexander Blewes is a man of varied activities both as a Citizen and as a Mason. A native of Montrose, he has resided in Glasgow since 1876. As a painter and decorator he worked with Messrs. J. and W. Guthrie, and with Messrs. A. & J. Scott. Afterwards he worked under Mr. William Stevenson, 231 Hope Street, and on Mr. Stevenson’s death, in partnership with Mr. Thomas Meikle he bought the business of which he now sole partner. Mr. Blewes is a member of the Institute of British Decorators, a director and past honorary secretary of the Glasgow Master Painters’ Society, and a past director of the Scottish Master Painters’ Association.

But it is as a Parish Councillor that Mr. Blewes will be longest remembered, and it may truly be said of him that he has spent the past six years of his life in the service of his fellow men. He has been intimately associated with the work at Stobhill Hospital, and has served on the District hospital Committees. As a representative of the Burgh Distress committee and a member of the Executive and Finance Committee, Mr. Blewes has done much hard work. Of a benign and cheerful disposition Brother Blewes has always taken an active part in providing lantern lectures and other entertainments for the poor children of the City.

As a church worker Mr. Blewes has been an ardent office bearer in Springbank U. F. Church, a faithful worker in the Sunday School and in the cause of temperance.

During the past sixteen years Mr. Blewes has devoted much time to Freemasonry. He was M. E. P. Z. in Maryhill Royal Arch chapter in 1908 – 09.

In the St. Mungo Preceptory and Priory of Knights Templar and Malta he is Past Preceptor and Past Prior, and is a founder of the Tayside (Dundee), Creiff, and Lochgelly Preceptories, while he has held various posts of distinction under the Provincial Grand Royal Arch Chapter, and is honorary member of various lodges and chapters. But the zenith of his ambition in Freemasonry was reached when in 1915 he was, with the goodwill of all the brethren, elected Right Worshipful Master of Lodge Maryhill, 510, his Mother Lodge.

Alexander Blewes, P.Z. ‘Passed Beyond the Veil’ late December 1926, to early January 1927

1909 – 1910 Jack Banks by R. J. Cuthbert, Recorder,

26th May 1917.

Mr. John Banks is a good example of the successful operative mason who have so often distinguished themselves in the speculative branch, and for whom Free Masonry seems to be specially attractive.

Brother Banks was initiated into Maryhill Lodge and was a faithful and conscientious worker for several years, during which time he held the offices of Bible Bearer, Inner Guard, Junior Deacon, Junior Warden, Senior Warden and Depute Master. During his term of office as Junior Warden he did valuable work in connection with the bazaar in aid of the Benevolent Fund of Provincial Grand Lodge.

After being made a Companion of Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, Mr. Banks was just as enthusiastic and capable in the Chapter duties as he had been in these of the Lodge, and he gradually worked his way through the posts of Master of Works, Third, Second, and First Sojourners, and Second Principal to the chair of M. E. P. Z. which he held with great acceptance during the year 1909 – 1910.

Mr Banks has always associated himself with the social and sporting life of the Chapter, and has been successful in the shooting tournaments, while as a bowler he was one of the winning rink in the first competition for the Sommerville Cup.

While M. E. P. Z., Mr. Banks showed his ability as worker of the Degree of Most Excellent Master.

1910 – 1911 William P. M. Black by R. J. Cuthbert, Records

4th JUNE 1917

Mr. William P. M. Black is a son of Maryhill Lodge into which he w; initiated in 1901. Very soon he became prominent as a worker when in conjunction with Mr. William Henderson he was made secretary of the Masonic Bazaar Schem by which the Lodge raised the substantial sum of £278 „ 7„ 3′/id in aid of P. G. I Annuity Fund. Mr. Black afterwards held the offices of Secretary, Substitute Master Depute Master and R. W. M. for two years, 1909 – 1911. He was instrumental increasing the fees from £3 „ 3 „ Od to £4 , 4„ Od, thus tending to raise the tor of the Lodge.

Comp. Black was exalted in Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, where he held th office of Treasurer and sat in the three principal chairs, being M. E. P. Z. during the year 1910 -1911. Mr. Black has also taken an important part in the higher branch of Masonry. He is a member of the degrees up to and including the eighteenth degree; a member of the Quator Coronati Lodge under the English Constitution, and he has contributed to the transactions of that Masonic Antiquarian Lodge.

In the Provincial Grand Lodge Brother Black first held office as President of Provincial Grand Stewards, and afterwards he was created Provincial Grand Marshal.

Mr. Black has spent much of his time in the service of his fellow citizens. He commanded his public life as Secretary of Maryhill Ward Committee, in which he was afterwards Chairman for three years. On two occasions he was elected by large majority to Glasgow Parish Council, which claimed much of his time, until he had to resign when he was elected to the Town Council in 1914. Mr. Black has served in the Statute Labour Committee, The Gas Committee, the City Improvements Committee, The Corporation Fire Fund Committee, and the Baths Committee.

A son of the manse, Mr. Black entered the legal profession, and became Writer and Notary Public, and a Member of the Faculty of Procurators.

Mr. Black is a keen bowler, and takes pride in the fact that while in office the Chapter he was one of the successful team in the Sommerville bowling trophy competition. He was one of the founders of the Glasgow N. W. Golf Club, interested in swimming, and has written several articles on this art.

As a literary man Companion Black has attained fame as a polished ar versatile writer, and has contributed a large number of articles both in poetry ar prose to well Known magazines. One of his best Known works is a play entitled “The Lord Rector and Another”, which he wrote in aid of the Belgian Relief Fund, and which he has caught much of the Gilbertian wit and humour.

1911 -1912 Robert Morrison by R. J. Cuthbert, Recorder.

27th. June 1917.

Mr. Robert Morrison was initiated into Maryhill Lodge 510, about eighteen years ago, and has been in office in the Lodge practically ever since, having occupied the position of Junior Deacon, Senior deacon, Junior Warden, Senior Warden, during the year 1903 – 1904 Mr Morrison was R. W. M., and in the following year he was very often called to the chair owing to his successor having been incapacitated through accident.

About a year after the founding of Maryhill royal Arch Chapter, Companion Morrison was exalted, and has held most of the offices in the Chapter, including those of the Sojourners, Captains of the veils, and in 1911 was called to the chair of M. E. P. Z. In addition to his Lodge and Chapter duties , Mr. Morrison also holds office in the Royal Ark Mariners and Red Cross Knights.

Mr Morrison is a capital all round sportsman, and has on several occasions helped to bring credit to has Mother Lodge. Thus he has been the winner of the Brown Shooting Trophy two years in succession, one year he was skip of the winning team in the Sommerville Bowling Trophy Competition, while on another occasion he was one of the Maryhill team which gained second place in 1911 in the Graham of Broadstone Tournament.

In Hillhead Bowling Club, he is a well Known competitor, and carried away the Resident’s prize one season.

In business Companion Morrison is Manager to Messrs. Brechin Brothers Ltd., in there butcher’s shop at BucKingham Buildings Hillhead. He has taken a lively interest in all that pertains to the welfare of shop assistants, in which connection he has been a director of the Scottish ShopKeepers Union for nearly eighteen years, during which time he has been twice Chairman of Directors, he has also been chairman of the Board of management of the Approved Section of the Union in connection with the National Insurance Scheme

1912 – 1913 John Carson by R. J. Cuthbert, Recorder.

27th. May 1917.

Mr. John Carson is a good example of the soldier brethren who have all along been conspicuous in the Lodge and Chapter of Maryhill, and who have furthered the attainment of that exactitude and precision which is so becoming in masonic work, and for which the brethren and companions of Maryhill are deservedly renowned.

Mr. Carson enlisted in 1893 in the Royal Scots Fusiliers and has seen much hard fighting in India, and later in the South African War where he served under General Buller, and was present at the Relief of Ladysmith and the Battle of Colenso.

On returning to civil life, Mr. Carson was in business on his own account in the stationary and hardware line, but being the possessor of certificates for physical culture from the Army and the Carnegie Institute, Dunfermline, he soon received work of a more congenial nature as physical instructor in evening classes and Janitor under the School Board of Glasgow with whom he has held situations of responsibility.

Brother Carson joined Lodge Maryhill in 1903 and held the offices of Junior Steward, Bible Bearer, Junior Deacon, and Senior Deacon.

In Maryhill R. A. C. Companion Carson distinguished himself in the offices of Sword Bearer, Captain of the three Veils, Superintendent of Works, Scribe ‘E’, and the various Principal’s Chairs.

He held the Chair of M. E. P. Z. during the year of 1912 – 1913, and has been a conspicuous member of the Royal Ark Mariners and Red Cross Knights of which he holds the various Chair degrees.

Of late years, Maryhill R. A. C. has been greatly indebted to Mr. Carson for his work in conferring degrees, which work he has always willingly performed in his characteristically soldier like fashion.

The ‘Passing of John Carson was recorded on 21st. August 1963.

1913-1914 James Robertson by R. J. Cuthbert, Recorder

12th June 1917

Mr. James Robertson was initiated into Maryhill Lodge on 23rd. December 1903. He held no offices in the Lodge which had not the same fascination for him that the Royal Arch Chapter was to have.

On 21st. September 1904 he was exalted in Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, and speedily became possessed of a sound and accurate Knowledge of the ritual, so that very soon he became an outstanding companion. He was successively Captain of the Veil, Superintendent of Work, Third Sojourner, Third Principal J, Second Principal H, and Third Principal Z. In the year 1913 he was elected First Principal Z, and proved himself an enthusiastic, agreeable, and hard working chief, and thoroughly justified the high expectations that had been formed previous to his election.

A member of Shamrock and Thistle Royal Ark Mariners, and the Council of the Red Cross Knights, Mr. Robertson was made W. C. N. and M. E. C. He is also a member of St. Mary’s Preceptory of the Religious Military Order of Knights Templar and Knights of Malta.

Companion Robertson is an honorary member of Chapter Moniebrough (Kilsyth) which is indebted to him for instruction in conferring degrees, he is also an honorary member of Rothesay R. A. M. and R. C. C., Dalmuir R. A. M. and R. C. C., Denniston R. A. M. and R. C. C. He is also a Life Member of the Provincial Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Glasgow.

At the present time Mr. Robertson is perhaps the mainstay of Maryhill R. A. C. in the task of conferring degrees, for which his sound Knowledge of Royal Arch Freemasonry and his genial and Kindly manner are singularly appropriate

1914 – 1915 William Macrae. by R. J. Cuthbert, Recorder.

12th. June 1917.

Mr. William Macrae’s mother Lodge is that of Hamilton, 233, where he was initiated in the year 1900. The joined Maryhill Lodge, 510, in 1903, and although he held few offices in the Lodge, he acted as Proxy Junior Warden in David’s in the East, Calcutta, in Provincial Grand Lodge, and unsparingly of his time and energies in fulfilment of his duties while in that office.

Companion Macrae was exalted to Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter in 1906, and it was then that his hardest work in Freemasonry began. He commenced his duties as office bearer in the Chapter by acting as Master of Works. Later he was promoted and held successively the offices of Captain of the Third, Second, and First Veils. This period was followed by three years in the Principals’ Chairs. He held the First Principal’s Chair in the year 1914 -1915, which proved rather an eventful year in the history of the Chapter.

In the higher branches of Freemasonry, Mr. Macrae is a Right Worshipful Mark Master Mason, and holds the degrees of the Royal Ark Mariners, and the Knights of the Thistle.

Mr. Macrae has been in the Confectionery trade for the past twenty years, having succeeded to a business established by his father forty years ago, and at present he is patriotically serving his country by working in a munitions factory, a task for which his early training in Hamilton has made him well fitted.

M.E.C. William Macrae, P.Z., passed to the Grand Chapter above during November 1921 to the regret of all Companions.

1915-1916 John Cumming. by R. J. Cuthbert. Recorder.

12th. May 1917.

Mr. John Cumming’s Mother Lodge is that of St. James, Doune, (171) in Perthshire, and the minutes of the Lodge bear witness to the interesting fact that at various intervals during the past hundred years some of his ancestors and relations have held the highest offices including that of R. W. M.

Brother Cumming was initiated into Free Masonry in the year 1904, and ever since that time he has been a most enthusiastic worker, notably as Secretary of Maryhill Lodge, and later during the years 1913 -1915 as R. W. M. when he had a peculiarly hard task owing to the outbreak of the European War. Yet his two years in the Chair were marked with success, and a very pleasing feature of the meetings was the inimitable way as First Principal of Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter 1915-16, the number of entrants was the highest in the history of the Chapter.

Brother Cumming has also worked hard in conferring degrees in this direction he has been most conspicuous in the First and Second Degrees and in various parts of the Mark Ceremony. Few men are his equal in bringing out the full beauty of the ritual of the Second Degree and much of his success here is doubtless due to his knowledge of and love for architecture. Mr. Cumming holds the Royal Ark Mariners and the Knights Templar’s Degrees. His vocation in life is that of a builder and his success in business shows that his zest for operative masonry is at least equal to his enthusiasm for the speculative branch. Mr. Cumming has had experience in all Kinds of contracts, but his speciality is church work, and recently he had an important task in the excavation operations in Dunfermline Abbey. An enthusiastic sportsman, Mr. Cumming is never happier than when wielding rod and line for trout or salmon, while he is equally expert with a shot gun. He has also carried away highest honours in the various masonic contests for rifle shooting.

Mr. Cumming is a man of culture and of great address, and these qualities combined with his imperturbable manner and fluency of speech have stood and must stand him in good stead in all that pertains to Free Masonry.

Intensely patriotic, and a Derby recruit, Mr. Cumming received His Majesty’s Commission on 2nd. October 1916, as a lieutenant in the Royal Engineers, and that this honour was well merited is the sincere belief of his many friends who wish he may speedily be back amongst them

1916 -1917 Daniel Borland by G. J. Cuthbert, Recorder.

9th June 1917.

Mr. Daniel Borland was initiated into Maryhill Lodge in 1904, and ever since that time has been one of the outstanding workers in that Lodge. He has held some of the minor offices and also the posts of Benevolent Fund Treasurer and Acting Treasurer during the absence of Brother Durand on military duty. But it was as Secretary to the Lodge that Mr. Borland has had his most laborious work, for in addition to the usual onerous duties of that office, he has full charge of the secretarial work of the various war schemes – for the relief of prisoners, wounded and other sufferers in the War – which has been so successfully carried through in the Lodge, notably under the sway of Brother John Thomson, R. W. M. Much of the success of these schemes is directly due to the work of Brother Borland, and is of itself proof of his business acumen and his wholehearted zeal for Freemasonry.

In 1904, Mr. Borland also became a companion of Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, and there his work has been no less important than his work in the Lodge. The Chapter had in Mr. Borland, as benevolent Fund Treasurer, a conscientious worker. In the various committees Mr. Borland’s opinion has always been highly valued, and it was largely through his efforts that some years ago there was the inception of that vigorous policy which gave fresh life to Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter and tended to bring it up to its present sound and efficient state.

From the chair of Third Principal, Companion Borland was translated to the first chair in 1916, and his term as M.E.P.Z. as might be expected from a man of his address, unassuming manner, and popularity, has been exceedingly harmonious. The number of entrants too has been very large despite the fact that the formation of a Royal Arch Chapter this year at Kilsyth has deprive Maryhill of a valuable source of candidates.

In the higher branches of Masonry, Mr. Borland holds the degrees of Mark Mariners, Knights Templar and Malta.

As a citizen he is greatly interested in his native district of Maryhill, and for several years has taken an active part in the Ward Committee, while recently he has undertaken the duties of a Special constable. For many years, Mr. Borland has been in business as a Plumber and as a Lighting and Heating Engineer and by indefatigable industry ha has established a very wide connection, the result being that he has been entrusted with some very important public contracts.

1917 – 1918 James McNab by G. J. Cuthbert, Recorder.

25th July 1918.

Companion James McNab is a son of Maryhill Lodge having been initiated into the “Blue” in 1907. His attendance there has been regular and he has proved himself a hard-working and faithful brother.

For three years Companion McNab held with much acceptance the office of Director of Ceremonies. He was afterwards promoted to the post of Bible Bearer and has since held the offices of Inner guard, Junior Deacon and Senior Deacon. At the present time under the rule of Mr. John Thomson, Companion McNab holds the office of Junior Warden and this post to a man of Companion McNab’s earnestness and popularity should be merely the prelude to a much more responsible position.

To the Royal Arch, Companion McNab was called in 1910, and if his work in the Lodge was strenuous, it has been even harder and more exacting in the Royal Arch. It is no mean test of a man’s ability to put him into the first Chair immediately after two men each of whom broke all records previously made, and no higher tribute can be paid to Companion McNab than to say that able as his predecessors were the Royal Arch has in no way suffered under his benign and kindly sway, and that the number of entrants bids fair to beat all existing records.

No one will grudge Companion McNab the honour he has gained.

By sheer hard work and devoted Service he has worked himself into his present exalted post having previously held the offices of Standard Bearer, Third Sojourner, Second Sojourner, First Sojourner and Second Principal.

Though not himself successful in any of the great sporting events of the Royal Arch, Companion McNab has done everything in his power to maintain the sporting instinct in the Arch, having along with two other Companions contributed a valuable Shooting prize.

Of proved ability, although absolutely unpretentious and unassuming, Companion McNab has been very popular, and in after years the memory of his reign as First Principal in Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter must and might to him be a source of much happiness.

John passed beyond the Veil on 25th. April 1966.

1918 – 1919 James Doherty by A. Mcintosh, Recorder.

January 1920.

Companion James Doherty first saw the light of Free Masonry in Maryhill Lodge to which he has proved his loyalty

As a Free mason and a man of strong character he has held several offices in Maryhill Lodge. But when he was exalted to the Royal Arch Freemasonry that is where the real ability of Com. Doherty was found.

He has filled several minor offices. But the office that Comp. Doherty has filled with credit was that of Treasurer before he was elected to the highest honour that any Mother Chapter can confer on her sons, that of M. E. F. P.

Comp. Doherty settled down to his post in a manner that was worthy of his election.

The business of the Chapter was always carried out in a most Satisfactory Manner.

Comp. Doherty is a very keen Bowler, he is a member of one of the best clubs in the City of Glasgow, he has alway taken a keen interest in the Sommerville trophy, he has also acted as Skip for his rink. He has also taken a very keen interest in the Annual Shooting competitions which he has always competed in but not with the same success as in the Bowling

Comp Doherty has had a most succesfull term as First principal in Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter and leaves everything in perfect order for his successor

2000 – 2002 William Noble McNeil.

Companion William Noble McNeil, was initiated into Lodge Milton Glasgow, No. 1520 in October 1969 and Passed and Raised in that Lodge within the year. He was Exalted into Chapter Cadder in 1973 and Installed as Z’ for 1980 – 81. He first came to notice in Chapter Maryhill in 1981 when he affiliated to assist the then struggling Chapter 296. He was, at that time, in Office as Treasurer of Chapter Cadder, No. 812, and had to request special dispensation in order to take office as Ex. Scribe Ezra in Maryhill in 1983.

In this Office he gave sterling and valuable service until 1986 when he transferred to Treasurer, an Office patently better suited to his former profession as a banker. He served as such till October 1988 when he was installed as M. E. Jeshua and then had to fall out of Office due to ill health. In 1990, having returned to full fitness, he took over as M.E.Z. and then, the next year, reverted to Treasurer till 1994.

Such was the state of the Chapter during the period since that time that in subsequent years William McNeil has served in all the following Offices; M.E.Z., M.E.J., M.E.H., 1st Sojourner, M.E.J., M.E.H., and then as M.E.Z. since October 2000.

Noble (as he is better known) is a Life Member of the Provincial Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Glasgow and has served on that body in most of the Offices, being Commissioned as Provincial Grand J and Provincial Grand H at different times. He is, at present, Honorary Depute Provincial Grand Superintendent, a post which rests easily on his shoulders.

He also holds the distinctions of being a member of Supreme Grand Committee, a member of the Metropolitan District of Edinburgh’s Visitation Committee and holds the Office of Proxy Grand Superintendent for New Zealand, South Island, a Commission which is in its fourth term.

If you want a good job done, seek the help of a busy man.

The Many Meeting Places of Chapter Maryhill, No. 296.

During its century of existence Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, No. 296, has occupied several meeting places, these, in chronological order, were :-

1. Masonic Hall, 172 Wyndford Street, Maryhill – from its concept till this hall was abruptly ‘taken over by the Military’ on 16th. September 1914, leaving Chapter Maryhill (and, no doubt, Lodge Maryhill) scrabbling for accommodation, and again from 16 -12 -1914 till 18 – 8 -1915;

2. Dramatic Masonic Hall, 48 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow – 21st. October 1914 till 16th. December 1914;

3. Masonic Hall, 172 Wyndford Street, Maryhill -

4. Dramatic Masonic Hall, 48 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow -18 – 8 -1915,20 -10 -1915, & 15-12-1915;

5. Masonic Temple, 100 West Regent Street, Glasgow -15-9-1915,17 -11 -1915,19 -1 – 1916,11 -5-1921,16 – 6-1921,21 -9-1921;

6. Wilton Halls, 106 Napiershall Street, Glasgow -16 – 2 -1916 till 20 – 4 – 21,18 – 5 -1921, & 17-8-1921;

7. The Crescent Masonic Hails, 6 Wilton Crescent, Glasgow -

8. Mission Halls, St. Clair Street, Glasgow -

9. 87 Wilton Street, Glasgow -

10. Masonic Hall, 83185 Bardowie Street, Glasgow -

11. The Crescent Masonic Halls, 6 Wilton Crescent, Glasgow -

12. The Gas-lighters’ Hall, 1520 Maryhill Road, Glasgow -

leased by Chapter from Maryhill Rangers’ S. Club and used from 18-12-1956 till sold 16 -11 -1960;

13. Woodside Halls, Clarendon Street, Glasgow -18 -10 -1961 till 17 – 3 -1965; when, because rent @ £4 „ 0 „ 0d. per meeting ‘was a drain on our financial position’ a move to the hall of Lodge Possilpark, No. 1330, @ a rent of £3 „ 0 „ Od per night, was decided;

14. Masonic Hall, 83185 Bardowie Street, Glasgow – April 1961 till October 61; April 1978;

15. Masonic Hall, Butterbiggens Road, Glasgow – 9th. February 1982;

16. Scout Hall, Kelbourne Street, Maryhill – from October 1983 till January 1984;

17. Shakespeare Street Youth Club Hall – February 1984;

18. Masonic Hall, Vulcan Street, Springburn – March 1984;

19. The Carrington Club, Carrington Street, Glasgow – April 1984 till November 1988;

20. The Caledonia Institute, 14 Fitzroy Place, Glasgow – from December 1988 till September 1991;

21. Masonic Hall, 9 Ardery Street, Glasgow – 30th October 1990 (for Installation);

22. Masonic Hall, 42 Priory Road, Glasgow – from October 1991 and continues to be so into the new millennium, and into Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter, No. 296′s second century.


The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The information is provided by Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter 296 and while we endeavour to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk.

In no event will we be liable for any loss or damage including without limitation, indirect or consequential loss or damage, or any loss or damage whatsoever arising from loss of data or profits arising out of, or in connection with, the use of this website.

Through this website you are able to link to other websites which are not under the control of Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter 296. We have no control over the nature, content and availability of those sites. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.

Every effort is made to keep the website up and running smoothly. However, Maryhill Royal Arch Chapter 296 takes no responsibility for, and will not be liable for, the website being temporarily unavailable due to technical issues beyond our control.